Learning a Language

I took French in school and failed it miserably. I lived in Portugal for over two years and whilst I picked up a wide vocabulary of useful nouns, I never grasped the language. 

No one ever mistakes me for a local here. I still pronounce words like router, beta, and garage correctly and not the American way. I have changed my spelling in documents I write at work, dropping ‘U’ from assorted words and reversing ‘E’ and ‘R’.

In comparison with my lack of foreign languages, I am comfortable with assorted computer languages.

BASIC (Assorted dialects)
COBOL
RPG
C#
Ruby
Objective-C

On Monday, Apple announced a new language for programming Macs, iPhones, and iPads. I have taken learning that language. I am recording my experiences and observations in a blog. Since I do not imagine that those who read this blog have an interest in the details of Generics and other such topics, I have created a new blog.

https://childrenofthebrain.wordpress.com/

The title of the blog seems an appropriate description of computer programs and comes from a quote by the author of Gulliver’s Travels.

 

Published in: on 4 June, 2014 at 6:51  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

