Not Enough Choices

Maybe I drink in the wrong places, but bar staff never give me a full range of choices. If I order a Manhattan, I will be asked what Whiskey I want. If I order a Martini, I should be asked for a brand of Gin; unless it is the sort of undesirable place that assumes I want Vodka.

Never have I been asked a question that is just as important for both drinks; what brand of Vermouth do I want. For a Manhattan choosing Martini & Rossi or Punt E Mes makes a vast difference to the drink. Unless you believe, like Churchill, that a Martini I made with ice cold gin and a bow in the direction of France, then once again your drink will be very different with M&R over Dolin.

I suspect the problem is that whilst most bars have a range of Gin and Whiskey, they stock only a single Vermouth – so we are stuck with the lack of choice when ordering Manhattans and Martinis.

Published in: on 25 February, 2014 at 7:00  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2014/02/25/not-enough-choices/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

