Missed Target

It has not been a good few weeks for Target, a chain of US stores that sell everything from groceries to electronics, after they revealed that credit and debit card details of million of customers had been gathered by hackers. The details of the hack that have emerged so far, suggest that their network security left a lot to be desired.

After my encounter with Target on Tuesday, it seems that the same lack of attention was paid by the designer of their phone system.

I wanted to call their pharmacy to ask a question about a prescription. I found their number from their website without problem. I rang the number and was offered thee options:
1. Order a refill
2. For doctors needing to contact the pharmacy
3. Speak with the pharmacist

I pressed option 3.

The phone system now told me the opening hours and location of the store and then offered me more options
1. Connect to Pharmacy
2. Connect to Electronics Department
(And more options for other departments)
How thoughtful that Target realize that having selected an option to speak with the pharmacy, I might actually want to talk with them about a TV set or one of their other services.
I selected option 1, because I still wanted to speak with the department whose number I had dialed at the start.

I now heard the store address and opening hours of the store again; just in case that as in Doctor Who or Lost, the building had instantly moved to a new location. After this information, I was given two options
1. Leave a Message
2. End Call

Notice there is no option to speak to a Pharmacist, the choice I had taken at the start of this adventure. I also wonder why the option to end the call exists; after all pushing the “End call” button works perfectly well.

I thought I might have misheard my choices and wandered down to this dead-end in error, so I rang back and ended up once more with no option of speaking to a human. I waited, in case making no selection would be treated as indicating that my original choice was what I still wanted. I was just given the previous two options.

In a rare show of rebellion I decided to not following the rules, I pressed ‘0’, even though that was not a choice offered by Target. Lo and Behold I was connected to a real person, who picked up immediately. I imagine they do not get those many calls with their phone system not giving an option to ring that phone.

Published in: on 24 January, 2014 at 7:00  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/missed-target/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

