Missing Plates

In the UK when you buy a new car from a dealer it will have the number plates on the car. Here in the US, the car arrives without any plates. The dealer submits paperwork to the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) and the plates will be mailed to me. This can take several weeks; a colleague who recently purchased a new car told me that his plates had arrived quickly – in less than two months. This is clearly a definition of quick that would only ever be used by someone with many years of experience with the glacial pace of the DMV.

This lack of plates does cause a couple of problems. I need to drive across a toll bridge every day. I have a transponder that will allow me to go through the toll booth without stopping and without needing five dollars in cash. However, the transponder must be associated with a license plate number; something I shall not have for several weeks.

Moreover, without a license plate I cannot apply for the sticker that allows me to drive in the High Occupancy Vehicle lane, which allows me to pay half the toll. Once I have the plates, I need to print a form and mail it with a cheque to the DMV. There is no online option for this service, so that again is a process that may take months or if it moves quickly just four to six weeks.

Published in: on 10 November, 2013 at 9:53  Comments (1)  

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. One of my staff at my new job worked for the DMV, and he confirmed that some of the systems were as glacial as the in-office processes. Of course, one understands the need for maintaining privacy as protecting PII is a BIG DEAL to all of us. However, the lack of an online method for applying to receive the eVehicle HOV sticker seems a glaring oversight in this modern age.


Leave a Reply

