Curvy, Dark Italian

I have had a Lexus IS350 since moving to The Bay Area in late 2006. This was a thoroughly entertaining drive whose thirst for fuel was not an issue with my low mileage. Now that I have a fifty mile daily commute, I needed to look for a car that could get more than the 24 miles to the gallon I was seeing from the Lexus.

I looked at various Hybrids and even a plug in Hybrid. The latter offering the added advantage of use in the High Occupancy lanes on the freeway and half price bridge tolls. The plug in Hybrid, a Ford Fusion was very expensive compared to the Hybrids; which more than offset the savings.

I liked the Lincoln MKZ Hybrid, a stylish and comfortable car, was so gutless that I could not imagine getting any driving pleasure from it.

The hybrid Avalon was a better performing car, but was too pricey for what it offered; again offsetting any fuel savings.

I did enjoy the drive of the all electric version of the Toyota RAV4, but that was let down by uncomfortable seats. Moreover, the interior looked as though it had been designed by engineers that have been released by Ford now that they have good looking and we’ll laid out interiors.

The problem seemed to be a conflict between wanting a fun, engaging drive and the requirement to find a fuel efficient ride.

Then we found the perfect balance. A pure electric car that gets the equivalent of 120mpg (about 140mpg in Uk gallons). A car whose acceleration and handling gave me a broad grin. A car whose monthly payments were less than the savings in fuel and tolls I would get. To complete the desirability, it scratched my itch for Italian automotive engineering.

I now have a Fiat 500e, a car only available in California. It is a curvy, metallic black, car with cute styling and go kart handling. The one drawback is that there is not enough room for adults in the rear. However, since the car is intended for me to commute that is not a major problem.

The range of the car is about 90 miles, so I can get to work and back on a single charge. I can plug it in at home overnight. There are also a large number of charging stations in the area, so I can park and charge for a day out that is beyond the range of a single charge.

20131105-204046.jpg

Published in: on 5 November, 2013 at 20:41  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/curvy-dark-italian/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Great car and it was nice to meet her yesterday! Dave raved about the torque. Must be kind of odd to not feel a transmission shift.


Leave a Reply

