Back to Front

After six years, eight months, and fourteen days with my current employer I handed in my notice on Tuesday. My last day is a week on Friday. I have a week off before I start my new job. That week will be spent on a relaxing break on Kauai, one of the Hawaiian islands. I start my new job on the first Monday in October.

I sent my mother, back in Great Britain, an email giving her an update on my job situation. I wrote that I start the new job on 10/7. It did not even occur to me that outside America it seem that I was waiting until July before working again. I have become so used to the odd habit of putting month before day, that I did so automatically – even when writing to someone who expects the day before the month.

One of my first projects in the job I am leaving was to oversee changes to our computer system to display dates as dd/mm/yy when viewed by our UK subsidiary. Throughout the project, I would correct those who called it British format; pointing out it was an International format. Now, I find myself going native and writing the date the American way. Next thing you know is that I will be calling people “dude”.

Published in: on 19 September, 2013 at 10:18  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2013/09/19/back-to-front/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

