No Jacket Required

Throughout my working career in the UK, I wore a jacket and tie to work. Usually, I went a step further and wore a suit and tie. Since starting my first job in the US in 2007, I have never needed to wear a jacket or tie for work.

A recent change in policy allowed us to wear jeans on Friday; otherwise it is business casual. That means trousers and a collared shirt is expected. It took a while before I did not feel as though something was missing around my neck.

On Monday, this week, the casual approach went a whole lot further. It was start of Spirit Week, a week of themed dress down days. The first day was telecommute/PJ day. The office was full of people in pyjamas, dressing gowns, and slippers. I was in sweat pants, a tee-shirt, and slippers. One of my colleagues had even gone to the extend of using product to sculpt his hair into a carefully arranged facsimile of morning bed-head.

Published in: on 27 August, 2013 at 8:44  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2013/08/27/no-jacket-required/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

