Kentucky Monastery in Texas

On Sunday night I made a couple of cocktails with very similar recipes that tasted markedly different.

Both used lemon juice, which I had squeezed several hours earlier, based on research that lemon juice tastes best if prepared 4-10 hours before hand. Sunday afternoon an opportunity to squeeze the juice in advance.

The first recipe I tried was “Frisco Sour”. Before I go any further, let me make clear for those of my readers outside of Northern California that “Frisco” is not an abbreviation of San Francisco. No local calls The City “Frisco” or “San Fran”. It is always “San Francisco” or just “The City”. In writing, you will see it referred to as “SF”, but I cannot recall that name being used in speech. Frisco is a suburb in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, which is geographically and culturally very different from SF.

The “Frisco Sour” recipe is a classic example of a New Orleans Sour, made as follows:

2oz     Rye Whisky
.5oz  Benedictine
.5oz  Lemon Juice

Shaken with ice and strained into a chilled cocktail glass.

The lemon juice acidity was very noticeable, certainly more so than the herbal sweetness of the Benedictine.

The second drink was a Kentucky Monastery, one that I made several months ago. At the time, I substituted Peychaud Bitters, as I had no Cranberry bitters. The recipe is as follows:

1.5oz Bourbon 
.75oz Benedictine 
.5oz   Lemon Juice
3 ds   Cranberry Bitters

Shaken with ice and strained into a chilled cocktail glass.

Although the lemon juice is a higher percentage of the drink overall, the acid taste was lower. It was a more mellow and balanced drink. Had I not made it myself I would have sworn to the presence of grapefruit. Changing Rye to Bourbon, with the increase in Benedictine added to the sweetness.

It is odd, that two so similar drinks should taste so different. I shall need to try the pairing again whilst leaving the base spirit the same in both.

I cannot swear that making the lemon juice in advance had an impact. I shall need to make two drinks side by side with two samples of lemon juice.

Published in: on 13 August, 2013 at 6:00  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/kentucky-monastery-in-texas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

