National Freedom from Choice Day

Last Friday was National Daiquiri Day. This is just one of many such days that have been marked to honor one drink or another. I have these events marked in my diary, for they provide a reason to pick a drink for the evening without prevarication.

I now have a well stocked drink cabinet, experience in making a wide range of drinks, and many more that I have yet to try. It can take longer to pick a recipe than to make it or drink it. The browsing of recipes and trying to decide between a known concoction and a fresh experience is part of the pleasure of my mixology hobby, but the occasional predetermined tipple is a welcome change.

Daiquiri is a much abused name; it should be a simple, traditional, straight up blend of white rum, fresh lime juice, and sugar syrup. Granted, that the original recipe cannot legally be reproduced in the US, as it calls for Havana Club Rum; a banned Cuban product. Nonetheless, there are plenty of good quality white rums available. Unfortunately, all too often the name is applied to a slushy mix of fruit flavored syrup and second rate liquor.

I had given up on making Daiquiris, until its National Day rolled round. My previous attempts had not been satisfying, having a taste of just sweet lime juice. I am glad that I gave it one more try, as with an older recipe to which I applied my own twist, I finally made a Daiquiri with which I am pleased.

2oz Flor de Caña Extra Dry 4 Year Old Rum
1/2 oz Lime Juice
1/4 oz Honey Syrup

The use of honey syrup in place of sugar syrup was my own slight variation, which along with the reduction of lime made a Daiquri that I can add to my cocktail rotation.

Published in: on 23 July, 2013 at 6:00  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2013/07/23/national-freedom-from-choice-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Sounds great! Did you add this one to your drinks menu?


Leave a Reply

