Renting a car hurts

I have just gone through the process of renting a car for a forthcoming trip to the UK. I had briefly looked at rates during the week and knew I could get the car for under £100. Today, the rates were about £160. I was shocked at such a large difference. Fortunately, I remembered that I had looked at the UK site earlier in the week and now I was looking at the US site. The same rental enquiry on the UK site returned the sub £100 rates.

I booked the car, although I would suggest to the rental car company that when asking for a billing address it might be a good idea to allow selection of a country other than the United Kingdom.

I needed to return the car to a location that is different from the pickup location. The site offers that function. I entered Carlisle for the return location and was asked to select one of two locations. I picked the railway station. I was then told that the station was not a valid drop-off location. If it is not a valid return location, why does the site offer it as an option?

I shall not disclose the name of this rental car company that has some odd issues with its website and a policy to rip-off its American customers.

Published in: on 23 October, 2011 at 11:52  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/renting-a-car-hurts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

