Harvest Time

I spent this morning in Alexander Valley, helping with the grape harvest. My friend’s husband’s cousin owns a private vineyard. He has been making an excellent Shiraz for several years. I helped with the 2007 harvest; in the intervening years I have been unable to attend. This weekend everything aligned and once more I was in the field with a small curved blade cutting bunches of grapes for the vine.

We tasted the 2007, a vintage whose quality is obviously improved by my cutting. The 2008 does not seem as good. The yet to be bottled 2009 shows great promise.

The owner and winemaker seems to have a slight case of Anglophilism. In his garage are two Jaguars and a Triumph. He also has a Morgan that he wants to rebuild. I assume he likes puddles of oil on the garage floor.

Published in: on 22 October, 2011 at 19:52  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/harvest-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Yes – he’s a definitive Anglophyle. The vintner also once owned a pub in San Francisco named after a famous racetrack in the UK.

    I think the 2009 is going to be really, really good.

    I still owe you 2 of the 2008.


Leave a Reply

