US Measures

I have been aware for some time that a gallon in the US is different from a UK gallon. The UK gallon is about 4.55 liters, compared to 3.79 liters in the US version. Today, I learnt that the week also has a different definition in the US. I think most of the country uses the seven days in a week definition, but the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a different measure.

I applied for a renewal of my driver’s license on 1st December. I was told that it might take up to six weeks to be delivered. I would have expected to receive it on January 12 at the latest. Two weeks later, I contact the DMV. They acknowledge the receipt of payment for renewal on December 2nd. I will get my license in 3-4 weeks. The DMV site still warns that licenses take up to six weeks, so if there is still four weeks on my wait, it follows that just two weeks have elapsed by their understanding of time. This suggests that the DMV week is twenty eight days long. I should get my license by the last week of May.

Published in: on 27 January, 2011 at 13:06  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/us-measures/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey Brit in LA you’ve been posting since 2007 don’t give up now. I expected at least a whoop whoop regarding the recent promotion (Norwich).


Leave a Reply

