Suspicious Behaviour

In a country in which torture is fine, if you have a note from your lawyer, and financial fraud is rewarded with government aid when you are caught, it might seem difficult to run afoul of the law. I have found an offense that so horrifies people that they are willing to call the cops: it is that most unAmerican activity – walking.

I walk to and from work on most dry days. Our newest neighbor admitted to my wife that she nearly called the police when she saw me walking down the street. I really don’t think that I look like a hardened criminal, nor do I move in a manner that I would see as skulking. It was just their assumption that someone on foot after dark was obviously up to no good.

Published in: on 4 December, 2010 at 12:13  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/suspicious-behaviour/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Ha Ha. My brother moved to Las Vegas about 10 years ago. He enjoys gardening and will shin up the palm trees to trim them. One of his neighbours (note neighboUrs :)) admitted to him that they assumed he was Mexican!


Leave a Reply

