Odd Sign

Part of my job involves working with my employer’s UK subsidiary. The UK subsidiary asked the marketing department to record a new version of a promotional video using an English speaking actress. I think they meant one without an American accent, but there are times that American English seems odd to some one from the UK. Last week, I saw a sign that said “Spray on bed lining”. I know what service was being offered here, but I had been fresh from the UK I am not so sure I would have understood. For anyone who is wondering why you would spray a lining onto a bed, let me explain. A lot of vehicles sold in the US are trucks with no covering behind the cab. A plastic lining can be sprayed onto the truck bed to cover the base metal.

Published in: on 7 March, 2010 at 10:20  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/odd-sign/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

