Black Pudding

Whenever I mention Black Pudding and its ingredients to Americans, they recoil in disgust. It is not something that I have seen on US menus, until yesterday. We went into Napa Valley for lunch and wine tasting. We ate at Bouchon in Yountville and for my main course I had Boudin Noir, or Blood Sausage, which is essentially Black Pudding. One of my favourite dishes on my Birthday lunch.

The wine tasting went well, I was especially impressed with Cliff Lede Sauvignon Blanc; a wine that Americans do not generally do as well as New Zealanders. This one was reasonably priced and of excellent quality.

I posted an update on Twitter about the wine and received an invite to a free tasting from another vineyard. They are presumably monitoring Twitter for mention of Napa and sending out invites; a very neat idea. Unfortunately, by the time I received the message, we were already heading down the valley in the wrong direction. Hopefully, the invitation will still be good the next time we visit.

Published in: on 12 January, 2010 at 9:56  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/black-pudding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

