Local Wine

Our wine tasting, or should I say my wine tasting as generally I taste and my wife drives, has in the past been done in Napa and Sonoma Valleys. These are within an a half hour drive of our home, so hardly count as distant. However, there is a wine growing region even closer. Outside the town of Fairfield and within Solano County is the Suisun Valley AVA. It is far smaller and less famous that its neighbours.

Blue Victorian

Yesterday, we went for lunch at a delightful cafe next to the Vezér tasting room. I had a glass of their excellent Verdelho and learnt about another tasting room they have called the Blue Victorian. Since the building looked striking, I thought we could combine an opportunity for my wife to take pictures with a chance for me to taste some local wines. I learnt that the winery’s name is pronounced like the credit card. I tasted a Pinot Grigio and a Sauvignon Blanc, both of which were surprisingly sweet. The reds were more to my taste, the Syrah being a clear favourite. I walked out of there with a bottle of the 2007.

wine 004

Whilst I was sipping the varied wines a group of four entered, three were tasting and one was driving. The driver sat down in an armchair across the room. Within moments, a grey cat had appeared and leapt into his lap.

 

I think that the local wineries offer opportunities for future visits, they are less crowded and more generous with the tasting.

Published in: on 18 October, 2009 at 10:18  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2009/10/18/local-wine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

