Saints

Here in the US St Patrick’s Day is celebrated in a secular and non Irish manner. Our office has shamrocks and leprechauns over many cubes and many people made a point of dressing in green. I did make mention that this was all very well, but where was the celebration of St George’s Day. To which the response was, naturally enough, what do the English do to mark St George’s Day. Until very recently the day passed almost unnoticed in the UK and in the last couple of years before leaving, celebration involved pubs hanging the St George’s flag outside and trying to mark it a drinking occasion to reflect St Patrick’s Day. However, a couple of my colleagues did make an effort and brought in toy dragons on April 23.  Below you can see one of the dragons wearing an England football shirt.

IMG_0175

I first saw this dragon whilst in a meeting with my boss. We were having a serious discussion and his window I could see one of the people who work for me making the dragon fly across my line of sight. I tried to keep a straight face, but my boss noticed that I was a little distracted. I said someone had waved at me; I did not think that he would believe me if I said I had seen a dragon.

Published in: on 27 April, 2009 at 6:25  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2009/04/27/saints/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

