Take Me Out to the Ballgame

I went to see the Oakland A’s on Thursday with a group from work. We had a box provided by my boss. It was a fun evening, despite a dreadful performance from the home team whose season has fallen away since I blogged about the last game I went too. The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim clinched the division the night before and the A’s are no where in the wild-card race. The most they could hope for is a second place in the division, but the 6-1 defeat inflicted by the Texas Rangers, their rivals for the runners-up spot, hardly helped them with that inspiration.

View from the Box

View from the Box

At Bat

At Bat

I have never been sat in a stadium box before. It was pleasant to have comfortable chairs, food and booze to hand, and even TV commentary on the game. The free drink may have lead to one of my colleagues falling down the stairs on the way home and spraining her ankle.

Published in: on 12 September, 2008 at 22:01  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2008/09/12/take-me-out-to-the-ballgame-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It sounds like you had a good time. I’m a Giants fan, so our season has been worse than yours. I’m just hoping whoever wins our division will at least be over .500 – what a sticky wicket (I’m trying to use British terminology – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sticky_wicket).
    I’m sorry to hear your colleague was hurt. I hope that didn’t put a damper on the evening.

  2. I’m glad you had fun. The pics turned out very clear despite the vast quantities of alcohol available. I hope the little gal is feeling better by Monday, and that her coworkers do not plague her overly much for her overindulgence!

  3. Would we make fun of her for trying to empty the box of Corona?

  4. […] Harvesting the grapes to wine creating a metaphor for life.  The Boy and the Dragon followed by Take Me Out to the Ballgame,  thoughts roam within our minds… What if we legalized recreational drugs? It never ends the […]


Leave a Reply

