The Thing on the Doorstep

On Wednesday evening I realized that I had lost my ATM card. I am not sure when or where I had mislaid it. I guess that I may have left it in the last ATM that I had used. US machines give you the money first, rather than requiring you to take the card before dispensing the cash.

I rang my bank who after verifying my identity said that the old card was stopped and that a new card was on its way. Friday being a holiday, the card would be with me Saturday. This seemed excellent service. I was therefore less irritated than I might otherwise have been when trying to check my balance on Thursday morning access to my online account was blocked until I entered details of the new ATM card, which I clearly not received.

The card arrived Saturday, but I did not collect it until Monday. It had been delivered by Fedex and left under the doormat. We generally leave the house via the garage so we had not noticed it until I left for my walk to work. I do think that packages of this kind, especially as it my bank’s name as the sender should probably not be left in the open. I do not know why a signature was not required.

Published in: on 8 July, 2008 at 19:03  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2008/07/08/the-thing-on-the-doorstep/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

