Time of the Blogs

Time.com has its first annual list of the twenty five top blogs. I have just one of them in my RSS feed, the idiosyncratic and frequently insightful Indexed. Many of the sites listed are not the work of one person, but large collaborative projects many of which are more like newspapers or magazines than traditional blogs; a phrase which I know is an oxymoron.

I have not had an opportunity to look at any of these blogs in detail, although there is something deeply unsettling about both the idea and reality of postsecret.com; the Jerry Springer of blogs. I shall not allow myself to succumb to voyeuristic tendencies.

Freakonomics and Lifehacker look as though they may of interest. The former having a recent post that reminds me how vague many Americans are about countries beyond their shores; American Airlines has a drop down list of countries to which they fly which includes Yugoslavia and USSR, neither of which still exist. The company for which I work had until last year an entry for Czechoslovakia which likewise is a country that now resembles a Norwegian Blue Parrot in a Python sketch. (That is my attempt at bringing this post vaguely on topic)

I shall probably add a few of these to my RSS feed, for a while at least. I wonder how many of them will still be in my feed in a couple of months.

Published in: on 8 April, 2008 at 6:38  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2008/04/08/time-of-the-blogs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A friend of mine is crazy for postsecret. Sometimes when I visit her, she drags me to her home office to show me the latest. I confess some are disturbingly interesting.

  2. Hmmmm I thought the whole point of blogging was one person’s point of view on a subject???

  3. What? You mean I am not on Time’s top 25 blog list?! Bloody Illiterates!


Leave a Reply

