Numbers without Meaning

Comcast are a cable company who offer TV, Internet, and home phone. I presume this is why they are unaware of a recent innovation; the mobile phone. I rang the number on their website and was transferred to Time Warner Cable, who purchased Comcast in Los Angeles. Their automated system assumed that my 626 prefix meant that I was in LA. I was not given any opportunity to redirect to the right office. I had to call from my office phone to get the right office. It is not possible to assume location based on the phone number prefix; people move and don’t change their number.

Published in: on 11 March, 2008 at 18:38  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2008/03/11/numbers-without-meaning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

