Undefeated and Off the List

Ever since my first visit to the US, I have felt that I should have US sports team that I support, just as I have an English and Scottish football team that I support. (Norwich City and Queen of the South respectively) I have yet to pick a team in any of the major US sports, but this weekend’s events emphatically ruled out one team. My wife’s family are originally from Boston and in the absence of an LA NFL team, they tend to support the New England Patriots. On Sunday the Pats completed the regular season undefeated, becoming only the second team to ever do so.

Clearly, I cannot support a team that actually wins anything; how would I cope supporting a team where victory was the norm and the good times outweighed the bad. Being a fan is about being long suffering and enduring failure, at least it is if you support Norwich City.

The New England Patriots are off my list, as are Boston’s baseball team who after a long period without a World Series win, took the crown in 2004 and 2007. The Chicago Cubs last won a world series in 1908, now that sounds like a suitable record of heartbreak.

Published in: on 31 December, 2007 at 12:53  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2007/12/31/undefeated-and-off-the-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. On June 30, 2008 you may choose to see your new team lose – live, in person! http://sanfrancisco.giants.mlb.com/schedule/index.jsp?c_id=sf&m=6&y=2008


Leave a Reply

