Buying Music

One area of possible difference between the US and UK that I cannot comment on is stores that sell records. It is a long time since I last went into a store and bought a CD. I now purchase music digitally via iTunes and get CD from eBay or online retailers such as Amazon or CD Baby. Online gives a much wider choice and with iTunes there is the thrill of instant gratification. With my iPhone I would not even need to wait until I got home to download and listen.

Today, however, I was regretting a loss that this approach brings. There are some record purchases that I can still recall, because of events surrounding the day on which I bought the music. When I listen to the music, there is an extra layer of pleasure to be had from the memories so evoked. One such album was “Brothers in Arms”. I purchased it in Brighton on the day that it was released. I had a serious hangover from the excesses of the night before; I had been celebrating/drowning my sorrows after losing the election to the position of VP Communications for the student body. I had not expected to win, but had enjoyed the campaign and received more votes than I had anticipated.

There is still plenty of opportunity for memories to be associated with pieces of music, but those that tie back to the day of purchase seems be a thing of the past.

Published in: on 8 December, 2007 at 18:12  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://britinla.wordpress.com/2007/12/08/buying-music/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I still remember the day I first bought and obsessed over ‘Scary Monsters’. I was a teenager, it was raining, and I had cut school along to take the train into Berkeley. The music store (Rasputin’s) was ecletic, slightly dirty, and contained racks of loosely categorized albums. An odor of incense drifted through from the head shop next door, and I was cold having selected a poet’s blouse, vintage sweater and skintight teal-hued denim from the closet that morning.

    To this day, the combination of sweet and musty odors evokes the sound of the first track, ‘It’s No Game’.

  2. The Wall. Bought that at Brent Cross on my way back to student digs in Cricklewood (opposite the dairy). Cricklewood, home of The Goodies, and the digs were as sleazy as those in The Young Ones. Is there anyone out there?

  3. Still better than the buying was the listening before the era of instant grat. I am not so old that I remember 8-tracks, but ancient enough to recall vinyl. The first time I heard Eno/Fripp ‘No Pussyfooting’ was mind-blowing, pops and hiss and all.

    Now, it seems that my iPod is protection at work from overhearing things I ought not to hear. Though Mark Knopfler sounds good anytime, anywhere – any material.


Leave a Reply

